The new face of committing in GitHub for Mac
We’ve just redesigned GitHub for Mac’s Changes tab to make it even easier to review lots of changes, and to see what will be shared before clicking Sync: This means…
We’ve just redesigned GitHub for Mac’s Changes tab to make it even easier to review lots of changes, and to see what will be shared before clicking Sync:


This means that you can focus solely on what’s most important to you: your changes.
We’ve also simplified and improved the process for fixing up a commit you’ve just made. Just click the “Undo” button in the pane that appears:

And if you don’t want to worry about manually syncing your changes after committing, you can enable “Automatically Sync after Committing” from the Edit menu:

This is yet another step toward our grand vision for GitHub for Mac, with plenty more to come, so give it a shot! If you already have GitHub for Mac installed, it will update itself to the latest version automatically.
As always, we’d love to know what you think. If you have any comments, questions or bug reports, please let us know.
Written by
Related posts
The August 17 outage, and the work ahead
An update on the August 17 outage and the steps we’re taking to improve reliability.
Your guide to GitHub Universe 2026 is here: The schedule just launched!
The GitHub Universe session catalog is live. Explore interactive workshops, community talks, demos, and panels. Plus, register before August 19 to save $300.
GitHub availability report: July 2026
In July, we experienced eight incidents that resulted in degraded performance across GitHub services.