Default visibility for new repositories

When you create a repository, you can choose whether it should be private or public.

Now, when you're signed into GitHub through an organization's single sign on service and create a new repository through the website navigation, the default selection is Private. This helps prevent sensitive company data from unintentionally being pushed to public repositories. See the about repository visibility article for more information about this choice.