GitHub Desktop 2.1 removes unused branches from your local repository after they’ve been merged and deleted on GitHub.com to help keep your branch list relevant and uncluttered.
The retention policy for web notifications will be updated in multiple phases with the goal of retaining all
`unread` messages for a total of three months each.
The first phase of this update has landed which has increased the retention for
`read` notifications from 1 week to 1 month and reduced the retention for
`unread` from 6 months to 5 months.