Tidying up after Pull Requests
At GitHub, we love to use Pull Requests all day, every day. The only trouble is that we end up with a lot of defunct branches after Pull Requests have…
At GitHub, we love to use Pull Requests all day, every day. The only trouble is that we end up with a lot of defunct branches after Pull Requests have been merged or closed. From time to time, one of us would clear out these branches with a script, but we thought it would be better to take care of this step as part of our regular workflow on GitHub.com.
Starting today, after a Pull Request has been merged, you’ll see a button to delete the lingering branch:

If the Pull Request was closed without being merged, the button will look a little different to warn you about deleting unmerged commits:

Of course, you can only delete branches in repositories that you have push access to.
Enjoy your tidy repositories!
Written by
Related posts
The next developer interface is ambient intelligence
AI, agents, voice, and physical controls are shifting software development from operating tools to expressing intent—and helping developers stay focused on building.
GitHub availability report: September 2026
In September, we experienced two incidents that resulted in degraded performance across GitHub services.
10 technical talks I’m excited about at GitHub Universe 2026
From verifying AI-written code to securing npm dependencies, these are the sessions I’m building my Universe agenda around.