Greater control over forks of your private repositories
Previously, if you removed collaborator permissions from someone contributing to a private repository on your personal account, that person would retain their fork (if they had created one). Today, we’re…
Previously, if you removed collaborator permissions from someone contributing to a private repository on your personal account, that person would retain their fork (if they had created one).
Today, we’re changing that behavior: if you remove a collaborator’s permissions from one of your private repositories, their fork will be deleted, giving you greater control over access to your private code. This matches the behavior of organization-owned forks, which hasn’t changed.
Written by
Related posts
GitHub availability report: August 2026
In August, we experienced five incidents that resulted in degraded performance across GitHub services.
The August 17 outage, and the work ahead
An update on the August 17 outage and the steps we’re taking to improve reliability.
Your guide to GitHub Universe 2026 is here: The schedule just launched!
The GitHub Universe session catalog is live. Explore interactive workshops, community talks, demos, and panels. Plus, register before August 19 to save $300.