Brand new feature we don’t want you to use
That’s right, in the past accounts could not be deleted. Previously we advised users to downgrade to the free plan and stop using their account, but some people wanted to…

That’s right, in the past accounts could not be deleted. Previously we advised users to downgrade to the free plan and stop using their account, but some people wanted to tie up those loose ends.
Now that you know this, we kindly ask that you forget this feature exists.
Written by
Related posts
Developer policy update: Transparency, state policy, and what’s ahead
Explore GitHub’s latest transparency data and learn more about policy updates affecting developers and open source.
Developers want more efficient software. Here’s what over 1,000 GitHub users told us they need.
New research from GitHub and Yale Program on Climate Change Communication finds strong demand for tools, measurement, and practical guidance that can help developers reduce wasted compute.
GitHub availability report: August 2026
In August, we experienced five incidents that resulted in degraded performance across GitHub services.