Greater control over forks of your private repositories
Previously, if you removed collaborator permissions from someone contributing to a private repository on your personal account, that person would retain their fork (if they had created one). Today, we’re…
Previously, if you removed collaborator permissions from someone contributing to a private repository on your personal account, that person would retain their fork (if they had created one).
Today, we’re changing that behavior: if you remove a collaborator’s permissions from one of your private repositories, their fork will be deleted, giving you greater control over access to your private code. This matches the behavior of organization-owned forks, which hasn’t changed.
Written by
Related posts
Your guide to GitHub Universe 2026 is here: The schedule just launched!
The GitHub Universe session catalog is live. Explore interactive workshops, community talks, demos, and panels. Plus, register before August 19 to save $300.
GitHub availability report: July 2026
In July, we experienced eight incidents that resulted in degraded performance across GitHub services.
GitHub availability report: June 2026
In June, we experienced six incidents that resulted in degraded performance across GitHub services.