Brand new feature we don’t want you to use
That’s right, in the past accounts could not be deleted. Previously we advised users to downgrade to the free plan and stop using their account, but some people wanted to…

That’s right, in the past accounts could not be deleted. Previously we advised users to downgrade to the free plan and stop using their account, but some people wanted to tie up those loose ends.
Now that you know this, we kindly ask that you forget this feature exists.
Written by
Related posts
The August 17 outage, and the work ahead
An update on the August 17 outage and the steps we’re taking to improve reliability.
Your guide to GitHub Universe 2026 is here: The schedule just launched!
The GitHub Universe session catalog is live. Explore interactive workshops, community talks, demos, and panels. Plus, register before August 19 to save $300.
GitHub availability report: July 2026
In July, we experienced eight incidents that resulted in degraded performance across GitHub services.