Ability to disable Actions workflows

Starting today you can temporarily disable a GitHub Actions workflow either in the UI or through the API. With this functionality you can stop a workflow from being triggered without having to delete the file from the repo. Later you can easily re-enable it again from the UI or through the API.

This new functionality can be useful in some situations, for example:

  • An error on a workflow is producing too many or wrong requests impacting external services negatively.
  • You want to temporarily pause a workflow that is not critical and is consuming too many minutes on your account.
  • You want to pause a workflow that is doing requests to a service that is down.
  • You are working on a fork and you don't need all the functionality of some workflows it includes (e.g. scheduled workflows).

For questions please visit the GitHub Actions community forum

To see what's next for GitHub Actions, visit our public roadmap