Greater control over forks of your private repositories

Image of Jake Boxer

Previously, if you removed collaborator permissions from someone contributing to a private repository on your personal account, that person would retain their fork (if they had created one).

Today, we’re changing that behavior: if you remove a collaborator’s permissions from one of your private repositories, their fork will be deleted, giving you greater control over access to your private code. This matches the behavior of organization-owned forks, which hasn’t changed.